Car Talk - Non S2000 General Motoring and Non S2000 Car Talk

Track Days

Old 08-26-2014, 09:39 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Track Days

Looking at booking a track day (experience day not take your own car), for my sons 21st. Does anyone have any recomendations as I have never done one before.

I'm midlands based.
Old 08-31-2014, 05:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Snetterton I suppose. A fair bit of run off there and what looks like a nice track - one I'm keen to visit but not gotten around to yet!

No need to be all scared. Pay attention to briefing, check your mirrors on the corner exits before long straights and don't be afraid to report the odd idiot who tries to stick it up the inside of you in a corner.
Old 08-31-2014, 05:35 AM
UK Moderator
UK Moderator

Received 307 Likes on 262 Posts

I don't think Ron has read the thread properly, this is about experience days rather than a track day in one's own car.
I was less than impressed by an experience day I did at ProDrive withEveryman but there were plenty of people there who seemed to be having a good time.
2 hours driving each way to get to the venue. A measly 4 laps, which was over in less than 10 minutes. were requested to change gear at about 4,000rpm.The whole day is geared to getting even more money out of you when you are there: "would you like to buy the additional damage waiver for £30, otherwise there is a £2k excess?"; "would you like to buy photos or a video?"; "would you like to buy extra rides?" Don't forget, the original experience wasn't exactly cheap in the first place.

A more positive review of such a day is here: https://www.s2ki.com/...st__p__23303808

And some other tips here: https://www.s2ki.com/...ar-driving-days

If you want to spend a lot more, the Palmersport days at Bedford have good reviews http://www.palmerspo...-programme.aspx

The Phil Price Rally School is a good day out too http://www.philprice...intense-course/