Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Thinking of buying this C5 Z06

Old 08-31-2008, 07:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Thinking of buying this C5 Z06

It's probably the best time to pick up one of these
It's a 2001 Corvette C5 Z06, has around 20,000 miles on it, it seems to be very clean, haven't driven it yet, but thinking seriously about getting it.
the sticker price is $27900.
what do you guys think? I have some concerns, I am not a Corvette expert, is the price fair, if not what should I aim for?
how is the handling ? is there anything I should look for when test driving it?
this is first MY, I think it has the sub 400hp motor, any reliability issues?
I know there are a lot of Corvette owners on this forum, or at least people know enough about them to give good advice, either tell me go for it, or stay away, I am not in a hurry to get one, and there will always be more for sale if this one is not worth it.
what do you guys think?

Old 08-31-2008, 07:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

seems a little overpriced for a 2001. Ask the C5Z06 guys on the corvette forum. I would look for 2002 or newer. You can buy a used C6 around $30K.

here is a nice 03z with 50k.
2003 Z06
Old 08-31-2008, 07:26 PM

Originally Posted by candyass,Aug 31 2008, 07:24 PM
overpriced. I woul look for 2002 or newer.
+1
Old 08-31-2008, 07:30 PM

Received 81 Likes on 31 Posts

I would rather buy MY02-MY04 unless I could find a white MY01.
Old 08-31-2008, 07:34 PM

Originally Posted by candyass,Aug 31 2008, 07:24 PM
overpriced. I woul look for 2002 or newer.
whats a good price for this one? are you recommending 2002+ just for the engine or there are other things ?
Old 08-31-2008, 07:44 PM

Originally Posted by mzk784,Aug 31 2008, 09:34 PM
whats a good price for this one? are you recommending 2002+ just for the engine or there are other things ?
Column lock

more column lock

Required reading

"New for 2002 Z06