Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Off-Road Vehicles?

Old 09-28-2006, 12:32 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Off-Road Vehicles?

Hey everyone! I've been looking into getting a good off-road vehicle, and wanted to know what some of you guys with off-road experiance can suggest.

Currently, I've been looking at mid to late 80's Chevy Blazers. I love the convertabile feature of those trucks! Not to mention the hefty v8, 4x4 and good ground clearance right out of the box.

So, I am open to suggestions for other good rigs to check out, since I am new to the off-road scene!
Old 09-28-2006, 02:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

AFAIK there's a lot of decent options and it's really about what kind of truck you're looking for and how aggressive you want to be with mods. It's generally true that you're better off buying something that's very common (i.e. no Land Rover Defender), but beyond that there's a wide span of good options. I'd recommend, in descending order of out-of-the-box capability:

'97+ Wrangler (TJ)
Suzuki Samurai
'84+ Cherokee (XJ)
Toyota Tacoma

if you want to get in cheap. A lot of the other options (K-Blazers, Land Cruisers, whatever) are just too big.
Old 09-28-2006, 02:40 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

FJ40
Old 09-28-2006, 06:40 PM
Former Moderator

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by North Star,Sep 28 2006, 12:32 PM
Hey everyone! I've been looking into getting a good off-road vehicle, and wanted to know what some of you guys with off-road experiance can suggest.

Currently, I've been looking at mid to late 80's Chevy Blazers. I love the convertabile feature of those trucks! Not to mention the hefty v8, 4x4 and good ground clearance right out of the box.

So, I am open to suggestions for other good rigs to check out, since I am new to the off-road scene!
I'd think twice before wheelin in a blazer.

Jeep, LR Disco, 4runner