Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

Never thought I'd author "Help me pick a car" thread.

Old 01-06-2015, 10:17 AM
Member (Premium)

Received 438 Likes on 308 Posts
Default Never thought I'd author "Help me pick a car" thread.

I have been hanging onto my S2000 for 11 or 12 years now. I like the car and just hit 40k on it but it is just time to start thinking about something new(er). I will probably drive my S2000 for one more summer, and maybe even two which means I will start looking for the next toy in the fall of this year at the earliest. I have Porsches on the brain and have essentially have my choices narrowed to 4 models, 2 911's and 2 Caymans. Anyone with feedback on recent Caymans and 911's please chime in.

The car will essentially be a summer semi-daily, maybe a couple long trips, fun car, maybe someday a track day or two but that is not a priority. Since I am only going to put about 3,000 miles a year on the car, I would look for a car with 30,000 or less on it and hopefully get to 60,000 without too much repair bill drama. Pretty much want to set my limit at about $50k, but hey, less is better.

My choices will be listed in no particular order, because each has a plus and minus.