Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

My ATS-V was stolen. What now?

Old 09-06-2024, 07:57 AM

Received 111 Likes on 66 Posts
Default My ATS-V was stolen. What now?

I have been driving an ATS-V for a few years now. I love that car. Well, I was working late on a motion, walked down to the underground garage, and the car was gone.

I had an AirTag on the car and one on a rifle in the trunk (that was secured in a safe, mind you). They found the AirTag on the car almost immediately. It took them a few hours to find the one on the rifle. The cops were basically incompetent. Between that and the latency of the AirTag, despite some attempts to catch up to the thieves, no joy.

Two topics of discussion:
  1. What car should I buy?
  2. How should I equip the next car so that I can mitigate the risk of theft/have the best chance at tracking the thieves.

Last edited by Mr.E.G.; 09-06-2024 at 08:15 AM.
Old 09-06-2024, 08:03 AM

What I liked about the ATS-V and why I have been driving it so long.

It's not a perfect car, but there's not a lot that is better for my needs. I don't like big cars, really. And I need something "fancy" enough that I don't look like a scrub when meeting with clients, but not ostentatious, either. I litigate cases all over the state and I have a bunch of kids, so I can't realistically daily drive or Corvette or anything like that. My wife has a big Mercedes 12 passenger van to haul the kids around, and I only occasionally take the oldest three with me anywhere, so a normal 5 passenger configuration is fine. The ATS-V was very fun to drive. Every time I thought about replacing it, I was left feeling kind of cold. I thought I liked the V8 Lexus IS, but it's slower than the ATS-V. That same thought process played out with several other cars. They were either quite a bit more expensive for a marginal increase in performance or they slower.
Old 09-06-2024, 08:09 AM