Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

May need to "move on" from the S2000 soon

Old 01-17-2007, 06:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default May need to "move on" from the S2000 soon

I've been leasing my '04 for the past 3 years with abit less than a year left on the contract. My dilemma is that the car is going to have significantly less mileage on it than I've been paying for because I haven't driven it as much as I thought I would. I went with a 48mo/60k mile lease and with less than a year left I've got 29,8xx miles. There is no way I'm going to put 30k miles on the car in less than a year (maybe another 12-15k), so I'm basically faced with giving the car back with less mileage than I payed for or buying the car ($17,500 or so).

Over the past few months I started to think that I was going keep the S2000 because I love the car and I'd just add a 3rd car to the family. Something used, better in inclement weather and with more cargo room. I have recently relocated, will be commuting longer distances to work and the wife and I have been talking about adding our first "little one" to the family, so the S2000 obviously isn't the best choice for a daily driver anymore. I had narrowed down my search to an '02-03 Subaru WRX Wagon for my 3rd car. I've never been a big fan of the Scooby styling, but my aesthetic standards for a more utilitarian vehicle are a bit lower. Unfortunately, it's hard to find these things unmolested with less than 60-70k milese without having to pay $14-15k for a 4-5 year old car. Besides that, insurance on these things is rediculous. I got a quote from USAA for $700 a year to add an '03 to my policy and my wife and I both have a clean record and will be 30 years old this in the next few months. Too many ricers cracking their 400hp WRX's up I guess.