Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

I'm about an inch away from an '03 GSX 1000R. Somebody talk me out of it...

Old 08-06-2003, 04:13 PM
pfb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been riding for 25 years, but this would be my first all-out sport bike. Primarily for canyon carving, and possibly to take to the track occasionaly as my speed-buzz from tracking the S2000 has more or less worn off.

Everything I've read just gushes over the bike, and the idea of getting that level of performance out of the box for about $10K appeals to me. It sounds like a competent bike off track, as well as on. Certainly not something I'd want to commute on, however.

So? **WAY** to much bike for a very experienced rider, but not sport-bike rider?

Buy a KTM 450EXC to replace the DRZ and a supercharger instead?

MSRP is $10,500 + freight + build. What would be an aggressive out-the-door *before* tax price?

My current bikes are:
Suzuki DRZ 400E
Kawasaki KLR650
BMW R1100GS
...and my four-wheeled motorcycle, S2000.
Old 08-07-2003, 12:32 AM

Okay maybe I will talk you out of it...

First off GSXR1000 is a awesome machine...gobs of power...but

I would go with a new 600 if I were you...still have plenty of power and it probably will make you a better rider in the long run...a little more forgiving when you screw up in those twisties

I went from a enduro last year and bought a 954...I love the bike, but I can't see the need for all the power...I have been racing this year an SV650 and I love it...because the bike is slower it makes you use a faster entrance and corner speed to keep up...I have learned so much on this bike and actually bought another one to ride on the street...I don't know about your area, but if you ever want to race the GSXR1000 it does not have that many classes like the smaller bikes...

I'd go for a new 600, but I have no idea of which one they all are freakin dope...
Old 08-07-2003, 04:14 AM