Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

"I want to start riding"

Old 09-14-2005, 01:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "I want to start riding"

Hey,

I lurked bike talk for some time, and have read most of the "what beginner bike should I buy" "first bike" "want to start riding" topics. They are all fine and dandy, except they seem to be focused on people who have 5-10 thousand dollars to go and a buy a SV650, used 600cc bike, or splurge on a new R6. Well I am a poor college student who is toying with the idea of buying a bike - so what should I buy?

Does it really matter what bike from the Regan era I decide on as long as my feet can solidly touch the ground as I sit on it? I have been reading about YZF-400s and they seem really cool, but hard to find.

I am looking to get a bike for short low speed commutes to campus, and I HOPE track days - as they seem like a lot of fun. My previous motorcycle experience is limited to dirtbikes and whatnot, and I will be taking a MSF course.

Jacob
Old 09-15-2005, 06:08 AM

Received 70 Likes on 36 Posts

There are plenty of good bikes under $ 2000.00

I would like into most any inline 4 bike. Water cooled is better as they last much longer, most of the 80's bikes were air cooled and are well worn with 20K on the clock.

Here is a great link with info on looking at used bikes

Used bike buying guide
Old 09-15-2005, 06:55 AM

Originally Posted by Skuzzy,Sep 14 2005, 09:52 PM
Hey,

I lurked bike talk for some time, and have read most of the "what beginner bike should I buy" "first bike" "want to start riding" topics. They are all fine and dandy, except they seem to be focused on people who have 5-10 thousand dollars to go and a buy a SV650, used 600cc bike, or splurge on a new R6. Well I am a poor college student who is toying with the idea of buying a bike - so what should I buy?