Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

How much of a hit price wise does a salvage title

Old 03-16-2010, 10:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much of a hit price wise does a salvage title

I'm looking at a used S2K that has supposedly only sheet metal damage. It still needs the bumper hood and fender painted.

Is there a standard percentage to deduct for a rebuilt titled car?
Old 03-16-2010, 11:03 AM

No standard percentage that comes to my mind, they're harder to resell though as a lot of banks don't lend on salvage/rebuilt cars.
Old 03-16-2010, 11:13 AM

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts

I am an insurance broker, a salvaged car has no value for comp and coll coverage due to the salvaged title. expect values to be half of normal car values even if the car is fine in your eyes, it is the world that does not value these cars.
Old 03-16-2010, 12:08 PM

Originally Posted by hirev,Mar 16 2010, 02:13 PM
a salvaged car has no value for comp and coll coverage due to the salvaged title.
does that mean that no insurance company will cover a salvage title vehicle for comprehensive and collision. Basically only liability insurance is all you'll have on a salvage? So you SOL if you're involved in an accident that's ur fault.
Old 03-16-2010, 12:18 PM

My friend and I have bought cars at the auction, fixed them, and then sold them. Cars get sold for 10% of payoff by the insurance company.

I had a 1999 Acura RL, back in 2004, I got T-boned, not my fault! The insurance company gave me $17500, and offered to sell me the car for $1750. I didn't buy it so it went to auction. We saw it at the auction. Someone bought it and fixed it.

Half is generous for some cars, and fair for others. It always sucks to sell salvaged/totaled title cars.

Fapout: I didn't know you hung out in car talk also.
Old 03-16-2010, 12:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post