Car and Bike Talk Discussions and comparisons of cars and motorcycles of all makes and models.

07 Si

Old 10-28-2006, 06:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 07 Si

While I am waiting on picking up an S2k I thought I would share my experiences on an 07 Si I bought as a winter "beater".

I am new to VTEC and Honda.

Bought new 10 days ago and have 2300 miles on it and I work full time.
I am middle age.
Prior cars are Supra TT, STI, C5, G35coupe.

I will not use the qualifier "for the price" because it does this car injustice.

At ANY price, this car is a effin BLAST. From the incredibly tuned exhaust note to its balance and feel and to its practicality, Honda does what other car companies cannot do.

It reaches out to you and wants to be driven hard.

It's parts are not impressive- slow to 60 (best I have done without clutch dump is 6.5 secs.), good but not great handling (it is FWD BTW)and certainly in the status department- well I don't think I need to tell you.

But the sum of it all is just raw and fun. I imagine BMW 3 series sedans at one point (20 years ago) were like this.

The best part about this car, and I guess this goes for the whole VTEC experience, is the winding up to 8 grand without the wheeze you get in other cars as they run out of gas after they have hit there HP peak. Again, other cars have the balls down lo and that is great but but there is something cool about letting it hang out to 8 grand from nothing and have the car pull strong.

Old 10-28-2006, 09:40 AM

I see you are waiting to pick up an S2k. I hope that you've had the pleasure of driving one hard. Congrats on your purchase. I've heard that the Si is a fun lil car. Definitely a helluva beater.
Old 10-28-2006, 09:53 AM

Welcome to the S2k/Civic combo family. Props on being able to apprecaite the Si despite having owned some much more powerful cars in the past.

Oh yeah, TTIWWP!
Old 10-28-2006, 11:22 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post