California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

Total suspension noob questions

Old 06-21-2010, 07:16 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Total suspension noob questions

While I'm no mechanical guru, I understand my way around an engine / engine bay fair enough however I'm fairly ignorant in all things suspension oriented. I'd post in the suspension forum, but tbh I don't want to read a thread of responses that are biased and irrelevant, plus I trust your guys' advice more than anyone on the forums. Please bare with my ignorance:

So, currently I have 8 coil Skunk2 springs on an otherwise stock suspension (MY06). This offers a ~2.00" drop, and a acceptable ride quality in terms of stiffness. It might be on end of the spectrum in terms of what I'd like my driving sensation, but still on the spectrum.

That being said; I've been looking at changing to swift springs. The sport streets offer a F: .7" and R: 1.00" drop. The sport spring spec R offer a 1.2" drop all around. Ideally, I'd like to be floating around a ~1.8"-1.5" drop in terms of visuals, so incomes the ignorance.

I'm looking at doing the spring change for performance aspects, but left on a stock setup would be giving up a lot of visual. So I would have to invest in a further setup to allow adjustability, so my question is... what?