California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

Summer tires safe in the rain?

Old 08-04-2010, 04:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Summer tires safe in the rain?

Do any of you drive on summer tires when it rains and gets cold here in NorCal? I just picked up my S2K and it came with Yokohama S.drives (95% tread) in stock widths (215f/245r).

I'm new to S2K's and lightweight sports cars in general, but I know how to drive like a sane man. I read somewhere on here that the car should absolutely not be driven on summer tires in the winter, but that sounds a little extreme to me.

Would I still be able to go on the freeway/bridges if it's pouring down?
Old 08-04-2010, 04:23 PM

I drive in the rain fine with my s drive 235/255. just cuz they are summer tires doesn't mean they have no traction in the rain btw but of course if u push it hard enough you can still fish tail
Old 08-04-2010, 04:42 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

They will do fine in the rain, just bring the speeds down and drive sensible and you'll be fine.
Old 08-04-2010, 05:36 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

It has always been my understanding that the 'more performance' of your summer tire (e.g., common classifiers: extreme, max, ultra high, high), the less traction you will have in the wetness. I would just look up the OEM tire stats and compare it with your S. Drives and you should have a pretty good idea of exactly what to expect in the wet.
Old 08-04-2010, 05:43 PM

Originally Posted by eklipz98,Aug 4 2010, 06:36 PM
It has always been my understanding that the 'more performance' of your summer tire (e.g., common classifiers: extreme, max, ultra high, high), the less traction you will have in the wetness. I would just look up the OEM tire stats and compare it with your S. Drives and you should have a pretty good idea of exactly what to expect in the wet.