California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

Replacing the CV joints

Old 10-17-2012, 03:59 PM

Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Replacing the CV joints

So recently I've noticed that my car starts to get a mild vibration during acceleration. I've read up on these forums, and from all of the material I've collected, the culprit is most likely the CV joints. My question to you guys is how hard is it to replace the cv joints? I'm no mechanic by any means, but I can do simple stuff i.e. oil changes. Have any of you here in the bay have to replace your cv joints, and if so, how much did it cost (for parts) and how hard was it for you? Thanks in advance.
Old 10-17-2012, 04:15 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by RUINER831
So recently I've noticed that my car starts to get a mild vibration during acceleration. I've read up on these forums, and from all of the material I've collected, the culprit is most likely the CV joints. My question to you guys is how hard is it to replace the cv joints? I'm no mechanic by any means, but I can do simple stuff i.e. oil changes. Have any of you here in the bay have to replace your cv joints, and if so, how much did it cost (for parts) and how hard was it for you? Thanks in advance.
is your cv boot torn? if it is, your cj joints are probably shot from all the dirt dust shit getting in there. how many miles on the car? suspension mod? alignments? wheel offset? trackdays? those can all be a contributing factor for a bad cv joint. im at 120k mines are still fine. i always lube it lol. if its normal wear and tear , i would replace all of them the same time. easy job if you know how to remove your brakes disc etc and axle.
Old 10-20-2012, 06:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts