California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

OT: Construction Industry in California/West Coast?

Old 03-06-2003, 03:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi,

Well, I've been offered a place at a top Uni to read a Master's degree in Construction Engineering and Management. Anybody here in the construction industry?

I'm trying to get a feel for the construction market in the Bay Area. Any idea what the job prospects are like for graduates in that field? Am considering whether or not to give up the job over here (London) and move to the US.

I'd appreciate any advice........

Regards,
BC
Old 03-09-2003, 02:36 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i'm not in the construction industry per se, but as an architect i deal with a lot of contractors. right now, there is still an extremely large amount of construction going on in the bay area. some of it is large scale public works (the almost completed subway extension to the airport, airports themselves, the new bay bridge, new light rail lines in san francisco proper), some is commercial, some institutional (several large new museums, a new campus for UCSF, some big new federal buildings) and most is residential. there is a pretty severe housing shortage throughout the bay area and especially in san francisco. i would guess that right now there are thousands of units under construction in s.f., mostly in the form of large scale mid-rise and high-rise condominium developments.

HOWEVER

almost all of this is the tail end of the boom of the late 90s and '00. the local economy is in a pretty serious slump, and when the current batch of private sector construction is finished, there will likely be a long lull before new projects pick up. a pretty sizeable chunk of the work our firm is currently designing is in asia, particularly china, and most of the work in california and the bay area is institutional (uc merced, housing for the new ucsf campus, city office towers, etc.)