California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

My Road Rage Rant

Old 09-15-2008, 12:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My Road Rage Rant

I was on 280S today between the exits for Eastmoor Ave. and Serramonte Blvd. cruising at about 60mph on the furthest right lane when some dickwad in a full-size pickup truck flies up on my ass and proceeds to flash his high beams at me.

I ignore him for a few seconds, giving him the benefit of the doubt, thinking that maybe he was trying to clean his windshield or something. But after a while I realized that he was trying to get my attention. I threw up my hands as if to say WTF??! and then he flips me off. He just kept giving me the bird.

For some reason this really aggravated me today. So I did what I've never done before, I brake-checked him. Now he's getting really riled up! He goes around me, tries to side-swipe me, gets in front of me, and repays me with some brake-checking of his own. At this point, I'm equal measures livid and confused, wondering what the @&$% I did to piss him off in the first place.

I drop a couple of gears, and go around him all the time motioning for him to pull over. I was ready to a) ask him what I did to offend him, and b) kill him. I pull off and stop on the shoulder of 280S, but the chickenshit flies by and doesn't stop. So by now my wife is shaking uncontrollably and sobbing. All I've achieved is to scare the crap out of her.

I responded very poorly by letting this douchebag push my buttons and I'm not proud of that. I should never have lost control and brake-checked him back. Fortunately, the situation didn't end in a worse way. We thought about it later, and we really couldn't think of anything that I did to piss this guy off. I wasn't driving aggresively, in fact I was cruising with the top down at 60mph in the slowest lane! I'm pretty sure I didn't cut anybody off at any point before that.