California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

Help installing Soft top

Old 10-12-2009, 02:17 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help installing Soft top

Hey guys I recently purchased a 2001 S2k and the owner provided a new soft top (sadly plastic window) because the current one has 2 holes in it.

I could tackle the job myself but since it's my first time I'm not sure what to expect and how long it will take me being my first time. I've done a bunch of things on cars but nothing like installing a soft top. If someone could help me I can gladly pay them and maybe we can chat up on cars over a meal too. I'm located in Marin County. Let me know how much and other details. Thanks guys, Glad to be a virgin s2k owner
Old 10-12-2009, 02:27 AM

Or if you guys know of a good shop too...
Old 10-12-2009, 11:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

there is a diy somewhere, its gonna take you a few hours to tackle it yourself and i would look into getting a glass one if your going to replace it, make it worth while.
Old 10-12-2009, 11:47 AM

Congrats on the new car... check for the DIY.. it's not as difficult as you might think... remember, it'll be alot easier if you just tear through your current top (won't be salvageable) but it will save your hours on the removal portion of the install..
Old 10-12-2009, 12:30 PM

Ya i've seen the DIY's but from the pictures and description it looks hard. (I have read that it's easy, just time consuming) I actually haven't even seen my car yet, I just know that it has the holes on the top and that I need to get it replaced. Maybe if I actually see all the panels and top in person i'll be able to assess the DIY better.

If I did get the glass window top, then would anyone even buy the plastic window? I can't let it go to waste right?
Old 10-12-2009, 12:36 PM

Originally Posted by lewiS2K,Oct 12 2009, 11:47 AM