California - Bay Area S2000 Owners California Bay Area S2000 Owners Group

Gas Mileage and Gas Expense Statistics

Old 03-26-2013, 09:03 PM

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Gas Mileage and Gas Expense Statistics

As many have probably seen in my signature, I've been tracking my 2004 Honda S2000's gas mileage using "Fuelly" for over two years. I've copied below a compilation of some interesting data that ya'll might find interesting.

For the math-minded...I'm not the most statistically minded person. However, being a psychologist by trade, the math requirement through undergrad and grad school necessitated mastery of statistics over other forms of math. Don't expect any hard core multiple linear regressions here, it's all basic "descriptive statistics".

Fuelly lets you track mileage by simply entering four data points: 'date, gas price, mileage, and gallons' for each fill up. Fuelly does it's own job of "cleaning the data" (removing outliers), by flagging an extraordinarily high or low MPG for immediate correction. Fuelly allows you to input "partial" or "missing" fuel-ups, basically allowing you to keep some data like price/gallons, and maintains accurate averages to avoid skewing with outliers. The website also lets you export the data to an excel file for some extended analysis.

Some relevant notes should include that I primarily drive my car in the mountains, and in a 'spirited' manner. I rarely "commute" (considering I've walked to work for the last 1.5 years). Prior, I had a 15 minute one-way drive to work. Thus, the data below is not necessarily applicable to everyone as far as gas mileage goes. Interestingly, the pure gas-price data is relevant to everyone. When reviewing gas prices, note that my fill ups have primarily been in Los Altos, CA and Walnut Creek, CA. Of course, always premium. I'm not a stickler to any specific brand of gas, but it's mostly Arco and Shell.

Total overall date range for the data presented below:
8/27/10 - 3/23/13