S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

reading about engine failure, is it fixable? DIY?

Old 07-23-2003, 02:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default reading about engine failure, is it fixable? DIY?

Hey guys..I'm a nooB to the boads and to the s2000 community. I've taken some time to read through the boards and see that there are some problems with the engine malfunctioning due to owner over rev and oil starvation. I noticed the problem was related or speculated to be related to a certain bolt (not sure what it is). Is there a fix for this? how much? is it nessecary=? For every one failure there are hundreds if not thousands of non failures. Thanks for the help

BTW: if anyone in san diego is selling their s2000 I'd be interested.
Old 07-23-2003, 07:03 PM

Received 5,318 Likes on 3,162 Posts

BANJO OIL JET BOLT (4-hole bolt)

In June 2002 there was a recall initiated in the Netherlands for both loose spark plugs and engine cooling / lubrication. This recall then continued to all the other European countries and England. The plug recall TSB was announced in the US July 10, and upgrades started mid-August. However, to date there
Old 07-24-2003, 04:54 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

This is the nicest summary I've seen on this subject, dlq04.

One other thing to add is that Consumer Reports still rates the S2000 as above average in reliability. These reliability figures are based on their survey of their subscribers. If you are an average CU member, you should see excellent reliability--or their statistics are wrong.
Old 07-24-2003, 05:58 AM